To the Child I Lost — You Left My Body But Not My Heart

I loved you my child, and I still do

Delilah Rose
2 min readJul 7, 2022
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

Her spirit still dances each time I close my eyes;
I don’t believe it will ever stop.
My heart is full though my life remains empty
Of the little girl I grew then lost.

She surprised me when I discovered she was there,
A tiny heart beating within me.
She could hear mine, a vibration of love
Hers, a whisper, then the silence to be.

Never again will I underestimate
The magic that conception brings
The joy, the wonder, the miracle of life
Though short-lived, the memory still sings.

My sweet girl, I hold you strong in my heart,
And will never forget your sweet presence,
Keep dancing softly and be free, my child
As I linger in the remnants of your essence.

Some years back, I conceived and lost a child. I believe she was a little girl, though I never knew for sure.

I miscarried at home, while alone. No one who has not been through this can ever imagine the shock and grief when you realise what has just happened.

For every woman, the act of conception is sacred. Deeply spiritual.

The growth of the child is a wonder and a miracle.

Please, do not ever assume to know what happens in the heart, mind and body of a woman at this moment in time, nor what she experiences through pregnancy, birth, or loss. It is profound. And that is all I will say.

--

--

Delilah Rose

Exploring life and love. All the best bits. Yoga teacher, lifelong traveller and storyteller.